Letter to US President, Barack Hussein Obama

Dear President Obama,

As a concerned member of the United States Department of State fellow working on the theme of ‘Tolerance and Conflict Resolution’, I find much irony that your Department of State is giving out scholarships to individuals all over the world to work on several themes, of which one of them is where I’m involved in.

The theme of ‘Tolerance and Conflict Resolution’ clearly speaks to dear program fellows of the Community Solutions Program on how to resolve conflicts through peaceful means; negotiation and nonviolence.

Unfortunately, I am disappointed at how you have decided to react at the situation in Syria without having clear and absolute knowledge beyond any reasonable doubt on which party had used the chemical weapons. Instead, you have jumped to conclusions, based on intelligence which are not able to provide you clear facts and evidence on who had used such chemical weapons.

In doing so, you have took it upon yourself to defame the Syrian government, that they have indeed committed a crime when you yourself are unsure on the facts of the case. You have also solicited support from other world leaders to join you in your cause to defame the Syrian government of crimes that hasn’t been proven.

As a graduate of Harvard Law school, I’m sure you would be well aware that in prosecuting someone, you need to have full facts of the case and the case has to be proven that whoever is being presented to in court, is beyond any reasonable doubt, has indeed committed such a crime – this I learnt as a trainee and as a police officer serving for the Singapore Police Force.

I, therefore, urge you, to wait for the investigation results by the United Nations before you commit yourself into a war that you know, the catastrophe will be beyond anyone’s control.

Thereafter, should the UN investigation results prove beyond ANY REASONABLE DOUBT, that the Syrian government had indeed used chemical weapons, I hope you would then think about the innocent that will be affected from the bombs that you have no control over.

As President, who is overseeing the funding for the Department of State fellowship that I am on, working on the theme of ‘Tolerance and Conflict Resolution’, I would find it extremely pointless to be here then in the United States to be learning about peaceful methods of resolving conflict; negotiation and nonviolence, if the country who is sponsoring me to learn about this expects me to share what I have learnt from this experience to citizens of my home country on my return.

I believe that when I speak on this matter, I am also speaking on behalf of my other fellows, of which, one of them is from Aleppo.

Image

Your bomb may just be the one to kill his someone he knows who happens to be in the vicinity.

I hope you will reconsider your decision to take up arms and instead seek more peaceful methods to resolve this conflict.

Regards,

Abdillah Zamzuri
Program Fellow
Community Solutions Program
U.S Department of State

2 thoughts on “Letter to US President, Barack Hussein Obama

Share your thoughts on this post!

