TO FAIL or TOEFL

This week I’m blogging quite a bit simply because I’m experiencing a lot of new things.

TODAY

I sat for my TOEFL test.

I swear I didn’t prepare for it until 6 hours before I was due to sit for the test. I had no idea what the test was about or how it was conducted. Some friends have told me how it was but I never bothered to check up further on it until 6 hours before the test.

I checked my email and realised the test would be at least 4 hours long!!!

Hence, I decided to check on the requirements and sample test questions to prepare myself for it (Don’t do this kids! I’ve been doing exams like this my whole life! Don’t study and just sit for it and I rarely get As)

So, the sample test questions took me close to 2hrs to complete and yeahhh… A LOT TO BE DONE!

So, when I finally sat for the test. 

I swear this was perhaps worst that GCE O Level exams. This was like sitting for the GCE O Level English paper, all within that 4 hours with just 10 minutes break.

Close Passage Questions – 2

Listening Comprehension – 2 or was it 3

Oral – 3

Essay Writing – 2

The worst part to me was the Oral test.

Just yesterday, I was judging kids for ‘Cakap Petah’ and the kids were given a minute to think and a minute to deliver their unprepared speech.

I was given 15-20 secs to think about an answer to a question based on what I had read and listened to and give my oral answer between 30 – 45 seconds!

PRESSURE I TELL YOU! 

At the end of it, I was just so glad I had made it through.

Now, I just hope I pass cause I really wanna go on that US State of Dept scholarship to the United States to study! 

Share your thoughts on this post!

