My Special Speech & Drama Class

This week, or rather, the past two days has definitely been enlightening for me.

It was The Security Guard yesterday and today, I had a very special boy in my Speech & Drama class.

I’ve been teaching Speech & Drama for about half a decade now (quite a feat I must say considering I jumped into this industry head first) and I’ve had great experiences all around throughout the entire time I’ve been doing this. During these years that I’ve  been teaching kids and training adults who join the industry, it never crossed my mind that some kids might have missed out on this opportunity to be involved in Speech & Drama programmes.

Today, I surprised myself when I volunteered to pick a class and then stepped in to realise that I had someone very special in my class.

This would be the first ever I have taught.

A STUDENT WHO IS WHEELCHAIR BOUND

At no point in my Speech & Drama career have I encountered such a situation nor had I ever been told about such an experience by other trainers whom I worked with.

Normal experiences would be usually be individuals with ADHD and recently, a new condition which I’m trying to figure out whereby someone would just literally, FREEZE (If you have any information on this, do email me at whatsabd@gmail.com)

Today marks a new experience in my life of teaching.

I wasn’t sure of what to do initially but decided to go “Naahhh… let me just teach as per normal”

And NORMAL he was!

He participated in EVERY SINGLE ACTIVITY that I conducted!

From introductions to movements of the body, he did EVERY SINGLE ONE!

And he impressed me with his spirit and enthusiasm!

AND best of all, there were times during my class when he stepped up to take on a more leadership position to request his classmates to cooperate with me as they were getting out of hand. Everyone else in the class didn’t seem to care either that he was on a wheelchair. No discrimination either🙂

This is definitely MY SPECIAL SPEECH & DRAMA CLASS and this just adds on to my list of experiences that I can share with my trainers and students!

And tomorrow, I look forward to my experience judging at ‘Cakap Petah’ competition organised by NUS PBMUKS held at Bukit Merah Library from 1000hrs to 1400hrs.

Thereafter, I will be giving a talk in the evening on how to ‘Ace Your Presentations!’.

Do check out the FB Events page here.

Share your thoughts on this post!

