Extremely Loud, Incredibly Close – The Review

Extremely Loud, Incredibly Close

I was asked if I wanted to catch this movie preview and I had no idea what this movie was about nor who the actors or actresses were but this movie was perhaps, the first movie in a long time that I’ve watched in a movie that moved me to tears. Not once but several times.

It wasn’t the acting which moved me but it was the story.

Synopsis:

“A nine-year-old amateur inventor, Francophile, and pacifist searches New York City for the lock that matches a mysterious key left behind by his father, who died in the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001.”

The journey of a boy in search of closure over his father’s sudden death led him to his mother, who went on his journey before he did to ensure his safe journey and return. In the process of his journey, the boy learnt to overcome his fear and also met with an individual whom his father has never seen or remembered much about.

A moving story indeed, I can’t recall how many times I teared in the movie and how emotionally tired I was at the end of it.

It leaves me to wonder and reflect on my own life, how would I manage the death of any of my immediate family member.

Share your thoughts on this post!

