My 1st Half Marathon has no Standard

4th December 2011 will always be remembered as the day I ran my first half marathon. It’s a crazy feat considering I did not train for this run at all nor did I attempt to maintain a stable diet in the lead up to this run. I simply wanted to try how it felt like to run a half marathon before I decided to take up a full marathon (one of the things that I must do before I die).

My usual running attire

My usual running attire

The crowd at the start pen

The crowd at the start pen

The experience running my first half marathon though, wasn’t as pleasant as I’d have liked it to be simply because of a few factors.

  1. There were close to 20,000 people running the half marathon! I had signed up for the half marathon because the 10km runs were usually quite packed but I guessed wrong!
  2. Less than 2km into the run, there was a bottleneck.

    First bottleneck

    First bottleneck

  3. I was running (forgetfully) in a new pair of shoes and hence, suffered blisters.
  4. For the first time ever, I had blisters on my ass whilst running!
  5. Having passed the 12km mark, I was feeling giddy due to lack of consistent hydration in the lead up to the run.

It definitely wasn’t as enjoyable as I would have liked it to be but there were also moments that I could enjoy.

  1. Men peeing in line at the open showers and changing rooms in Sentosa because the cubicles and urinals were fully utilised!
  2. Seeing the elderly walk through the entire half marathon! RESPECT!
  3. Seeing ladies in hijab run in with a loose top but with compression tights.. Hmmmm… I was a bit confused but let’s just enjoy the view from the back!
  4. I dozed off whilst stretching!

    Right after I dozed off whilst stretching along the road

    Right after I dozed off whilst stretching along the road

  5. I saw a man sleeping at the 16/18km mark!
Just happy to know I finished

Just happy to know I finished

What was yours?

What was yours?

At the end of the day, the experience was worthwhile although I would have loved to have been able to make that run a more enjoyable and less painful one since I’m literally walking with a pain in my ass now!

 

One thought on “My 1st Half Marathon has no Standard

Share your thoughts on this post!

