Estimated 50,000 pax in Attendance At Workers’ Party Rally

How was your political date earlier?

Did you manage to convince your partner to go dating or did you had problems trying to enjoy dating, politically?

Whichever the outcome was for you, it must have been dependent on which rally you attended.

Earlier tonight, I was at Workers’ Party rally at Hougang and what a reception it was for the Workers’ Party!

On my arrival, I wasn’t able to see the stage at all, much less to see the faces of the candidates. Made worst, the telecommunications network was down and I wasn’t able to call or even tweet!

Nevertheless, I was impressed with the turnout!

Standing right at the back

Standing right at the back

Moving Closer

Moving Closer

Closest I Managed To Get

Closest I Managed To Get

Close to 50,000 by initial estimates would have easily filled up that huge field! There were even supporters at the adjacent block filling up every available floor to listen to Workers’ Party slate of candidates.

Block Supporters

Block Supporters

Whilst I couldn’t hear the speeches as clearly as I’d like to because the speakers weren’t equipped to handle such large volumes, there were several instances whereby supporters were extremely enthused and clapped their hands and shouted wildly in support.

Standing there, I wondered how different would it be if I had attended the rally at Buangkok, helmed by the PAP and low and behold, my wish was granted!

I bumped into my brother and his wife who lived just beside Buangkok MRT and had cycled through and this was their account:

“I could see the candidates face very clearly. There was less than half of the crowd here (Hougang).”

I think that statement sums it all!

I also decided to get myself a memento at $2!

Respect for the Workers' Party

Respect for the Workers' Party

Hougang SMC's Workers' Party Candidate - Yaw Shin Leong

Hougang SMC's Workers' Party Candidate - Yaw Shin Leong

Hougang SMC's PAP Candidate - Desmond Choo

Hougang SMC's PAP Candidate - Desmond Choo

Desmond Choo actually is supportive of the blue team! That’s because he was a Deputy Supt in the Singapore Police Force. He probably wants to tell Hougang residents to vote for the men in blue.

Either way, Hougang SMC will no doubt be a good fight between ‘My Acquaintance’ and ‘My Ex-CO’.

4 thoughts on “Estimated 50,000 pax in Attendance At Workers’ Party Rally

  1. Reading the yahoo reports of the various opp rallies, it seems to me that the rally size is gross under reported. I was at the SDP JE rally last night. It definitely looks larger than 3,000. The grandstand sitting area it self can seat 3,000 pax and it was 90percent full house! On the field it looks like about 4,000-5,000 and in the open air benches another 1,000. So I’d say the SDP JE rally was attended by about at least 10,000 pax.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily SG: 29 Apr 2011 « The Singapore Daily

Share your thoughts on this post!

