Wong Kan Seng’s Apology For Mas Selamat’s Escape A Precedence for Uniform Officers in MHA

Nobody Is Above The Law

Or is it?

Ministry of Home Affairs

Ministry of Home Affairs

At an interview with Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng who was the Home Affairs Minister previously, he said, “I told Parliament, that a mistake was made, there was a lapse in the security and I apologised for that and we will do everything to find him, eventually it took us awhile after he ran away and we gave the Malaysians the information, where he was hiding. Having done all that. I think people did understand that yes, indeed we have done what we could, of course the first mistake cannot be obliterated it was there.

“I owe up to it, as the minister, I took responsibility for it, that’s the right thing to do and I think people will look at that, and see on the whole based on what I have done here in the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal, fatal to their decision on electing me or not.”

Nobody Is Above The Law

Nobody Is Above The Law

Does him being in the position of a Minister, allow him to be let off the hook with an apology and the eventual arrest of the subject who was of Regional Security, mind you, Mas Selamat was a terrorist with a regional network, not national network.

IF Wong Kan Seng was an National Service Officer, wouldn’t he have had to undergo trial and most definitely be sent to Detention Barracks as well as Prison for allowing a TERRORIST to escape due to negligence?

Mind you, when I was serving my National Service, I wasn’t spared from the law by a mere apology.

If I had allowed a detainee under my charge to escape, I’d have been severely dealt with regardless if I had managed to re-arrest the detainee or not?

If I was caught sleeping on duty whilst on sentry, I’d have been sent to Detention Barrack.

If I was caught smoking on government premises by Commanders, I’d have been investigated.

However, since Wong Kan Seng was allowed to escape unscathed, I suppose ALL Uniformed officers under the Ministry of Home Affairs can be pleased to know that they are allowed to do the following:

  • Sleep On Duty Whilst On Sentry
  • Allow Detainees To Escape From Legal Custody and
  • Many many more!!

If you should ever get investigated or be sent to court for your negligence, you can simply say that you were following an example set by Wong Kan Seng.

Follow The Leader

Follow The Leader

Wong Kan Seng has set the precedence for every Uniform Officer to follow because if he should be allowed to escape unscathed, then so should every other person after him, who due to negligence, allows a detainee to escape from legal custody because he is a Minister and since as uniformed subordinates we’re always asked to follow our leader, who better to follow than the Minister himself.

If you disagree with me, then let’s reason out why he shouldn’t be given be sentenced.

3 thoughts on “Wong Kan Seng’s Apology For Mas Selamat’s Escape A Precedence for Uniform Officers in MHA

  1. Pingback: Daily SG: 25 Apr 2011 « The Singapore Daily

  2. what he was saying is:

    mistake was made (by someone else), there was a lapse in the security(full of other unexploited lapses) and I apologised for that(but personally I’m not sorry)
    …based on what I have done here (nothing much) in the last 27 years, is that one lapse by a department fatal, fatal to their decision on electing me or not.(of course they should not elect you! have you not heard of the concept of ‘the buck stops here’ or honor?)

    in fact WKS should have stepped down after such an incident broke out – ministers in 1st class governments tend to do that – rather than write long prose

  3. Abdillah, just for my own edification, if you broke the law, should we also send your father and mother to jail?

Share your thoughts on this post!

