Johari Blindspotted Hypocrite

At some point of time in our lives, we’re all outright liars. We concoct lies to our own benefit and gain and mask it as the truth so that others may believe and are bought into those lies.

I’ve lied countless times in my lifetime but more often than not, I’m driven to tell the truth or I fail to tell my lie convincingly enough. We tell lies in jokes to humour ourselves and we also tell lies to hide away from disgracing ourselves or others.

Those lies are perhaps forgivable but the mother of all lies has got to be one that comes from someone who preaches or lobbies for a particular cause but yet, is deceitful of what was preached. Most of these people are politicians who preach about causes they believed in but lived life in the exact opposite.

These individuals are then no longer liars, they are hypocrites.

Hypocrites

– a person who pretends to have virtues, moral or religious beliefs, principles, etc., that he or she does not actually possess, esp. a person whose actions belie stated beliefs.
– a person who feigns some desirable or publicly approved attitude, esp. one whose private life, opinions, or statements belie his or her public statements.

We’re all hypocrites in our own way.

We say we believe that alcohol is sinful yet we drink it. That in itself is hypocrisy!

But there are several layers and levels to hypocrisy.

Hypocrisy is another dimension towards lying and deception for you are only outrightly a hypocrite when you oppose the behaviour publicly. In broad, hypocritical behaviour stems from two human desires: to present a good public image and to judge other people.

Civil Servants often find themselves being hypocrites in trying to find a balance between presenting a good public image and being themselves. And like Civil Servants, individuals and organisations who remain in public or work with the society and community at large are almost always faced with this issue of hypocrisy.

Like myself, an individual who is heavily involved with the society and community at large, I have found a way for me to thread on careful line between the life that I live and the life that I potray to those whom I serve. However, at no point of time that I can recall have I ever openly declared or opposed a particular behavioural action with much distinction.

It’s not because that I do not have a firm standpoint on things but simply because I understand that to err is human which is why I’ve been very much open about my personal life in my dealings with everyone only refusing to answer or reveal certain portions of my life because I feel that it isn’t a necessity to.

I do, however also, make it a point to inform those whom I am in contact with about my feelings towards them. It is my way of contributing to their ‘Johari’s Window’, to help them uncover their blind spot and perhaps, help them find solutions to iron out life’s many burgeoning issues.

I just hope that I can receive the same to improve myself. I just hope that no one’s pretending to be nice and like me and laugh together when in actual fact, you have unresolved issues with me. Because if you do, I want to know and I bet I’m probably not the only one that you have unresolved issues with.

Share your thoughts on this post!

