Technologically Subuh’s Amazing!

Technology, what exactly is it?

A few days ago, a friend of mine posed this same question to me. A question that I wasn’t sure of how to answer. Why such a question in my heart?

I can’t recall my answer but the reply I received was startling. It was a reply he had heard from this visiting professor years ago who said that ‘Technology is the current trend of today’.

I didn’t quite catch the meaning of it on first instance so came the explanation.

I was told that to the professor when he was a young boy, transistor radios were technology. His father was amazed at the technology and purchased several of those technological inventions which had seemed to amazed him but to the young professor, as a boy, he didn’t find it amazing.

Now that he’s all grown up, he’s amazed at how computers work. Computers are the technology of his time whilst his son doesn’t care two hoots about computers.

This morning, as I blog this down after my Subuh prayers, I was woken up by the technology of my time, ‘Mobile Applications’.

It wasn’t my regular alarm that woke me up but it was a mobile application I had downloaded the night before which had prayer timings. I wasn’t sure how the application works and whether or not it would be effective until now.

Until 5.39am this morning, I always had trouble waking up for my Subuh prayers because I can’t hear the Muezzins call for prayer. Amazingly this morning, as I was in deep sleep, I suddenly heard a call for prayer and almost immediately, I just sat up!

And for the first time in my life, I woke up for prayers to a call for prayer! And this couldn’t have been done if not for technology!

And as I blog this down to share with you on how technology has made it possible to make an effective positive impact on my life, I wonder how much has technology been of use to others.

To end, my friend then said to me, how afraid he was to be lost in technology. I never quite understood what he said until this morning and yes, I am just as afraid to be lost in technology.

For now, I just want to get back to my bed and catch up on sleep before the construction work begins!

Share your thoughts on this post!

