Tok Lasam, Chieftain of Kampung Siglap

Siglap, as we know it, is one of the most happening places to hang out at. Coffee houses line the streets along Upper East Coast Road and fancy restaurants as well as relatively fashionable individuals enjoy spending late nights chit chatting over a cuppa.

But, how much do we know about what exists in that area or rather, the history behind Siglap?

Did you know that much of the land on the opposite site of those coffee houses along Upper East Coast Road used to be the coast?

A few days back, I was informed that in Siglap itself, there is a graveyard which belongs to the Chieftain or Penghulu of Siglap. Siglap’s original name is also “Si Gelap” which means “The Dark One”. Very mysterious indeed.

This particular gentlemen who was the Penghulu of Kampung Siglap originated from the Indonesian province of Gowa located on the Sulawesi island (another finding mentioned that he was from Istana Pagar Ruyong, Minangkabau, Sumatera). Tok Lasam, the Penghulu of Kampung Siglap was in fact, a prince and he had to leave his kingdom as it was under attack from the Dutch.

Tok Lasam requested for him and his followers to travel to Singapore because he had relatives who were already staying in Singapore, in Kampung Kallang or Tanjung Rhu. He didn’t stay put for long there and continued on his journey to find a suitable spot to begin a new settlement with his followers and that’s when he found ‘SI GELAP’.

To officiate the opening of the settlement, Tok Salam placed his keris into the grounds of the settlement (Ground Breaking Ceremony). The settlement of Siglap prospered with many fishermen but it wasn’t long before his royal subjects came to find him to request him to return back to his Kingdom in Gowa, Sulawesi to take the throne as his father, the Sultan had passed away.

He didn’t want to return as he had assimilated well with the new environment and hence, ordered that his twin brother take the throne instead and he requested that no other royal subject to ever speak word of his presence in Singapore.  Before his subjects left, they presented him with a spear as a symbol of significance that they had indeed been in the presence of his royal highness.

Tok Lasam Grave

Tok Lasam Grave

During his death towards the end of the 18th century, his body which had already been wrapped with a white cloth (following Islamic teachings) turned yellow. Everyone believed that he was a leader with supernatural abilities. His body was buried near a tree at Jalan Sempadan, Kampung Siglap.

To visit the grave, it’s just behind Mendaki premises off Tay Lian Teck Avenue. There’s a park at the back there, you won’t be able to miss it.

(The above information was translated from a Malay article found here and here.)

16 thoughts on “Tok Lasam, Chieftain of Kampung Siglap

  1. As I remembered correctly according to my late grandfather, Hassan Walad (the 4th generation of Penghulu Lasam), the late Penghulu Lasam was from Istana PagarRuyong and not Gowa, Sulawesi. He also had a brother who fled to Malaya and more specifically, Negri Sembilan.

    • Hi Kathy,

      Thanks for the info! There were several stories about his origins. I think perhaps it would be great if the descendants could do a write up to help clear up any confusion, this also ensures that there would be a reference point for historians and researchers.

      Would you be interested to assist should there be a project to document the stories?

      • Hi Abdillah,
        The info I got was from my late grandfather Hassan bin Walad. Unfortunately though, all of the older generations of my grandfather are no longer living. I know that my late uncles knew more about our family history.
        I’m very honoured for your invitation to assist in your future project. However, I’m sorry to say that I don’t think that I can be of much help to you as your biography covers much of my information with the exception of Tok Lasam’s other brother who fled to Malaya or more specifically Negri Sembilan. I think thats why Negri Sembilan still practises the “adat pepateh” which was derived from Minangkabau. That is only my opinion.

  2. Hi,

    You must be Abdillah then, are you? thks for your prompt reply. with regard to the photos, its somewhere in the envelope but I have to look for it. will get in touch with you once i found it.

    Warmest rgds.

    Waladj

  3. Assalamualaikum Abdillah,

    Just to let you know that you can also get some info and photos of our kampong at the Masjid Kampong Siglap. Chikgu Anis Tairan wrote a book of the former kampong Siglap with some photos of Tok Lasam’s generations. Unfortunately, I’ve lost many of our family’s photos after shifting houses.

    Mr Walad Jamaludin is actually my second cousin. His grandmother and my grandfather (Hassan Walad) were siblings. She passed away long before he and I was born. His grandfather, Osman bin Yusof (actual name is Syed Osman bin Syed Yusof Alqudsy) was my grandfather’s brother-in-law. As far as I remember, I’ve never met Walad when we are adult because his family moved out of our kampong when he was still a young boy.

    If Walad still keeps the old photos of our family, I also wish to see them.
    Hope it will bring back those memories and also of our beloved kampong and our past generations.

    By the way, have you any relations with Tok Lasam’s generation? Thank you very much for the research you did (and still researching) about our family’s and Kampong Siglap’s history.

  4. Thank you Zamzuri, on occasions when I walked passed, I always wondered what’s the special nature of land near Jalan Sempadan.
    Now I know. I appreciate your research and detail. Cheers,Anthony

    • Hi Lisa. First, may I know whether you have any connection to Tok Lasam’s generation? If you have, I would like to know more about your family. Perhaps you can supply more information about Tok Lasam’s history from your family’s stories or any other source. My information about the history of Tok Lasam is quite insufficient. I am the 6th generation of Tok Lasam. My lineage is Lasam, Lama bin Lasam, Walad bin Lama, Hassan bin Walad (my maternal grandfather) Emah binte Hassan (my mother) then me Khadijah Abd Ghani. Unfortunately, I do not know the name of Tok Lasam’s father. All except for my youngest uncle (Lama bin Hassan) have died.

  5. Hi Kathy,

    I am from the direct families of Tok Lassam. My dad is the 4th generation directly from him. So to say Tok Lassam is my 4 grandfather.

    I have all the great grandfather full name except Tok Lassam if you know are you willing to share.
    :)

  6. Hi There! I am Abdul here. I and my brothers are deeply interested to know and learn about the history and lineage of Penghulu Lassam. My Tok is Haji Walat bin Ismail. My father is Mat Aris. The Vacant Land near the road of Jalan Sempadan is where My Late Grandfather House stood. I had heard many interesting story about Kampung Siglap, Penghulu Lassam from my father and other family members and what i understand from my Dad that we are related to Penghulu Lassam too. Maybe with the advance of the DNA technology we could easily verified our link to Penghulu Lassam and each other. It will be a very interesting study.

    • Dear Abdul,
      I do not know you but I know who your grandparents and father are. My late grandmother told me that our families are related. Unfortunately though I do not know the lineage.
      As for the connection to Tok Lasam, I know that I am his 6th generation.
      Lasam, Lama (son), Walad (son) Hassan(son) Emah (daughter).my mother. All my maternal uncles (except for my youngest uncle) and aunties have died. Your father knows who my living uncle is (Ismail…real name is Lama bin Hassan). I’m sorry that I can’t give you much information. Anyway, I’m glad that you are interested in knowing Tok Lasam’s history.

      • Hello Kathy
        You seem to know lot of lot about the Kampong Siglap and the
        peoples whom Tok Lasam and his followers begin to setlle down long long ago. It triggers me to know more after following the stories. Besides, Kampong Siglap there was also a Cemetery Kubor Kassim which I think have connection with Kubor Kassim and Masjid Kassim as well. I formerly staying at Lorong Mydin and Jalan Masjid near Masjid Kassim.
        Haji Abdul Hamid Ismail

Share your thoughts on this post!

