Singapore’s Last Village

For most Singaporeans, especially those born post-independence, were raised surrounded by a slab of concrete. But for a certain group of Singaporeans, they are living possibly in what is the last village home in Singapore.

The village I’m talking about is Lorong Kampong Buangkok.

Lorong Kampong Buangkok

Lorong Kampong Buangkok

It’s located near Jalan Kayu, just off Gerald Dr and it’s an absolutely amazing sight the moment you get there. It’s as if one gets transported from high rise modern Singapore to getting jet set back in time to an era whereby homes were as open as it should and could be and as spacious as it could be.

It was raining when I was there and it was just breathtaking. More than just that, I also managed to do my Zuhr’ prayers in a proper Singapore kampong.

Surau Lorong Buang Kok

Surau Lorong Buang Kok

On stepping into the surau, an air of history rushed out to greet me into the prayer hall. It was inviting, cosy and somehow, I felt as if I was breathing in an air of familiarity. It was this smell that I used to breath in as a young child when I visited my grandpa’s house in Toa Payoh and it’s definitely an air that I miss because it brings me memories of my late grandma.

Prayer Hall

Prayer Hall

Traditional Ablution Area

Traditional Ablution Area

 

Bedok - An instrument used to call for prayers

Bedok - An instrument used to call for prayers

 

Traditional Lighting Fixtures

Traditional Lighting Fixtures

I wasn’t there for long though as the rain began to dissipate and well, rainy as it was, there was also another pair of curious humans there. Friendly at that too :)

So, if you happen to be reading this and you recognise this next photo, do drop a comment and let’s get in touch!

A lizard crept up onto my hairy legs after this photo was taken

A lizard crept up onto my hairy legs after this photo was taken

Little is left to wonder how much longer this village will remain standing before the Singapore government decides to tear it down as  LTA officers were spotted in the area just as I left the village. Hopefully, Singaporeans will get the opportunity to explore this kampong before this last village really just disappears from the face of this cosmopolitan city.

2 thoughts on “Singapore’s Last Village

  1. Pingback: Daily SG: 12 Sep 2012 | The Singapore Daily

  2. Many thanks for several other superb write-up. The location else may well any individual obtain that style of information and facts in that ideal means of writing? I get a presentation in the future, exactly what to the try to find such details.

Share your thoughts on this post!

