Where’s My Coins?

We all love money.

We love to look at it, touch it, own it and most definitely, SPEND IT.

But money is also interesting in it’s own right. Like how money has changed over the years in design and shape but not it’s economic value.

Even in times when there were no mints that print and issue out currencies, trade in the past used gold and silver for those who could afford and for those who couldn’t, barter.

It was just a regular spring cleaning day for me when I came across a whole stack of coins that I’ve had with me over the years. I’ve spent some of it but kept most of it for rainy days to come. I’m not even sure how much those coins are worth in monetary and economic value but I was very tempted to perform an analysis of the coins.

For most Singaporeans, 1-cent coins are now a thing of a past since it’s no longer in production and I’m not sure if it’s accepted for transactions. 1-cent coins have since then, remained a treasure trove for me.

Organising and scrutinizing my 1-cent coin collection, I discovered several interesting things that I could perhaps make inference to how the coins were produced for production.

1-cent coins were probably produced in bigger bulk every 5 years because I had a generous amount of 1-cent coins from 1995 and 2000.

Aside from that, I’m quite pleased to have in my possession 3 different generations of the 1-cent coin. The first dating back to 1943 when Singapore was still under British Colonial rule. The second dates back to 1975 and finally one from 1986 which was in circulation until 2005.

Singapore's 1-Cent Coin Transition

Singapore's 1-Cent Coin Transition

Next on the list was 5-cent coins.

Whilst the 1-cent coin didn’t provide with much details about the transition from shape and design, my 5-cent coins were a bit more helpful.

I discovered that in 1985, Singapore’s 5-cent coin changed to the current one in use today from the silver coin. Aside from that, the Singapore mint probably loved 1995 because just like the 1-cent coin, they had probably produced a large quantity of it and then similarly again in 2005.

A 10-year trend perhaps?

Singapore's 1-Cent Coin Transition

Singapore's 1-Cent Coin Transition

Singapore's 5-cent coin collection

Singapore's 5-cent coin collection

So yeah, that’s probably it for today.

Just a pretty much random account and discovery on 1-cent and 5-cent coins.

If you’re interested to read more about the Singapore dollar, here’s a pretty useful and hopefully reliable link:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_dollar

Share your thoughts on this post!

